'New' Delhi announce IPL 2019 captain, Hafeez retires and more

Delhi Daredevils,Delhi Capitals,DD renamed

Delhi Daredevils,Delhi Capitals,DD renamed

Delhi Daredevils, part of the Indian Premier League since the opening edition in 2008, has been renamed as Delhi Capitals, the franchise announced on Tuesday (December 4). After being known as the Delhi Daredevils for the past decade, Delhi's IPL team will now be called Delhi Capitals. JSW Sports acquired a 50% stake in the Delhi franchise ahead of the 2018 edition of the IPL. However, there is already a team called "Delhi Capitals" that plays in the UBA (basketball). "We wanted this name to mean something to each and everyone from Delhi", said JSW Sports' Director Parth Jindal during the update. Besides the name change, the owners have also unveiled a new logo. The two big changes were snubbing of local star - Gautam Gambhir, who was brought from Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 2.9 Cr was not retained ahead of the auction. Delhi in fact are the only original team to have never made it to the final of any edition of the IPL. While former Australian captain Ricky Ponting continues as the coach, Mohammad Kaif has replaced Pravin Amre as his assistant. Whereas, getting Team India stalwart - Shikhar Dhawan back in the team in lieu of three cricketers from SunRisers Hyderabad is also another move which raised quite a few eyebrows.

More news: CIA chief to brief lawmakers on Khashoggi murder
More news: Usman Khawaja's Brother Arrested Over Alleged 'Terror Hit List'
More news: Israel launches operation to cut off Hezbollah infiltration tunnels

They finished last in 2018, winning just five of their 14 games.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.