Google Photos stops syncing with Google Drive in July

Tricks to get the Most out of Google

Tricks to get the Most out of Google

Similarly, new photos and videos you add in Google Photos will be added to the Photos folder in Drive.

Next month, Google is putting an end to automatic file syncing between Google Photos and Google Drive because the function was creating "confusion".

Today, new photos and videos that appear in a user's Google Photos automatically appear in that user's Google Drive as well. Starting July 10, the Google Photos folder in Drive will no longer automatically sync with the Google Photos service.

The current system has apparently caused users to accidentally delete photos and videos across all of their platforms by attempting to remove them from just one, so Google will instead implement more "granular control".

Photos and videos you save to Google Drive will no longer automatically be copied to Google Photos.

More news: Real Madrid sign Ferland Mendy from Lyon in £47m deal
More news: French Open Tennis 2019
More news: Woman hospitalised after drinking too much bubble tea

So Google has made a decision to retire the file syncing on July 10 in order to "prevent accidental" image deletions, Google said in a Wednesday blog post. "Once copied, these items are not connected between the two products, ' the company notes". This also means that such a move would end up eating more space especially if the copied item is of "original" quality, as only "high" quality images do not count against storage space.

While these changes will affect any photos or videos added to either service from July 10, existing media will remain where it is, although its connection to either service will be severed - so modifying or deleting files on one won't affect the other.

Backup and Sync will continue to work as before using the Windows and Mac clients. Your Google Photos folder in Drive will remain but will no longer update automatically as before.

Any photos or videos that were uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. But items uploaded using Backup and Sync in Original Quality to both services will count only once towards your total online storage quota.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.